heart-muscle

Everyone wants to be obedient and tries very hard to be obedient but the big question is this – Do you really want to?

There are commandments to follow and instructions to carry out. Even though you are well able to carry them out, how willing are you?

Proverbs 16:2 – All the ways of a man are clean in his own sight, but the lord weighs the motives.

Jeremiah 17:10 – I, the LORD, search the heart, I test the mind, even to give to each man according to his ways, According to the results of his deeds.

When deciding to obey a commandment, first, our heart will always be scrutinized. There is a saying which says – ‘His heart is just not in it’. This means that however way you try your best, it won’t be of a good standard because you lack good intentions. It also means that you are not emotionally involved and will not be engaged.

Some time back, I remember being part of a Marketing team, which was so happened to be my very first job. They sent us out to campaign on behalf of Talk Talk. The journey to the base was very long, I was with someone else so I wasn’t bored. When we got the base, we set up our materials and we got started. The day itself was long and with every passing hour, my confidence was draining so in the end I decided to stick it out and wait till home time.

As much as I tried to sell Talk Talk, my heart was just wasn’t in it. You could say I went in without the right mindset. At the end of the day, me and the guy I was with got back on the train and made our way back to the office. As I left the office, I remember the guy telling me that I had the potential to be a great Sales Marketing Professional but I left after 2 days because my heart just wasn’t it.

It’s not that I didn’t want to do it, my heart wasn’t in it. I had to be real with myself and do what was beneficial for my heart

I also remember a time when I was offered an opportunity to go to Brighton to see a football match. Usually I would be up for it and very eager to go but when I woke up on that particular morning I felt really disorientated and so I decided not to go along. It’s not that I didn’t want to go but my heart wasn’t in it.

It is very dangerous to go ahead with something when you know you are not up for it.

Let’s visit a well-known passage in the bible. We’ve looked at it before but I want to zoom in on the end

John 21:17 – Jesus asked a third time, “Simon son of John, do you love Me?” Peter was deeply hurt that Jesus had asked him a third time, “Do you love Me?” “Lord, You know all things; he replied, “You know I love You.” Jesus said to him, “Feed My sheep.

So, within this we see that Peter told Jesus he loved him. Jesus then told him that if he truly loves him then he should go out and feed his sheep.

You could just imagine the scenes if there was no love. It’s a common thing these days because people do it for their own gain. ‘If I do this for you then you can do this for me’. This mindset needs to be eradicated from our mindsets. Our mindset should be founded on love.

When we operate from a position of love, our walk with God becomes easier and we are able to obey him fully. When we operate from a position of love, our service to God will be done with great joy. When we operate from a position of love, we will be overflowed with compassion.

2 Corinthians 13:5 – Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Can’t you see for yourselves that Jesus Christ is in you — unless you actually fail the test?

We need to get back to the place where we examine our hearts daily. We need to get back to that place of love

